《美国营救法》:家庭,学校和社区的传单和资源: 立即获取!

不公平的教育资金是宾夕法尼亚州学校的肮脏绝招

当魔术师登上舞台时,他会挥舞着魔杖,帽子或斗篷,以分散听众的视线,以防观众看见另一只手正在发生的事情。像那个魔术师一样,州政府中的许多人希望分散我们对公共教育的“另一只手”的注意力。与魔术师不同,他们的削减是真实的。他们受伤了。宾夕法尼亚州教育预算削减的捍卫者指出,就教育支出占经济份额而言,英联邦在全国排名第八。但是,如果没有公平的筹资方式,我们就必须看看这笔资金是否确实分配给了需要的人。我们做到了。它不是。对宾夕法尼亚州教育经费的一项新审查(可能是迄今为止最全面的)发现,宾夕法尼亚州在经济困难的学区就读的学生所占比例第三高。宾夕法尼亚州最富有的地区的资金状况如此之好,以至于弥补了该州数量众多,数量不多的贫困和失败地区的不足。不好,但是更糟糕的是差距正在扩大。

宾夕法尼亚州当然拥有高质量的学区,一个新的评论给 它是全美前十名中的三名,费城地区前五名中的两家。毫不奇怪,这两个地区(特雷迪夫林/东城和下默里恩)是宾夕法尼亚州最富有的学区之一,即使不是该国。十分遗憾的是,大多数宾夕法尼亚州的学生不像Tredyffrin / Easttown和Lower Merion的学生那样,并非来自收入六位数的家庭。在2010年,研究发现,宾夕法尼亚州的较富裕地区的人均收入比其较贫困地区高出$2,000。到2013年,差异为$3,000。如果您想知道某个州放弃其筹资公式会发生什么,那就是它。最富裕地区的每名学生支出增长大大超过了其他80%地区。根据 美国研究所,宾夕法尼亚州最富裕的5%的地区每位学生的支出比2013年收入最低的5%的地区高出60%。

因此,当我们说教育削减和缺乏公平的筹资方式对贫困地区的打击最大时,这就是我们所说的。研究发现,低贫困地区的每个学生花费超过$1,000,超过了他们达到平均成绩所需的水平。高贫困地区每名学生的跌幅超过该水平1,TP2T2,500,并且自教育削减以来每年都在恶化。但这只是学术性的,是什么 实际结果 宾夕法尼亚州的学生?这些较富裕地区的学生80%的支出远远高于足够的学费,他们在最新的PSSA考试中表现出了熟练的数学和阅读能力。高贫困地区的学生中,只有65%的学生精通数学,而只有60%的学生精通阅读。这些数字都在下降。

education surplus graphic for 11-9-14 blog

美国研究所

那宾夕法尼亚州在哪里呢?我们拥有该国最好,最富裕的学区,但是由于“在资助力度最大的教育中”,这才分散了人们的注意力,使其不再是“美国许多经济最弱的地方公立学区的所在地”。国家的教育系统”,“由于预算削减,迫使各地区不得不向各州的地方公立学区提供最低的州资助”。 依靠财产税。答案很明确:宾夕法尼亚州需要一个公平的教育经费筹措方案,以便经费水平取决于需求,而不是财产税。如果不是这样,宾夕法尼亚州最贫困学生的下降趋势将继续。

The American Rescue Act: Flyers & Resources for Families, Schools and Communities: GET THEM NOW!

Unfair Education Funding is a Dirty Trick for Pennsylvania Schools

When a magician takes the stage, he will wave around a wand, a hat or a cape to distract the audience’s eyes from what is happening with his other hand. Like that magician, many in the state government want to distract us from the “other hand” of public education. Unlike the magician, their cuts are real. And they hurt. Defenders of Pennsylvania’s education budget cuts point to the fact that the Commonwealth is eighth in the nation in terms of education spending as a share of the economy. But without a fair funding formula, we must look to see if that funding is actually spread to those who need it. So we did. It’s not. A new review of Pennsylvania’s education funding, perhaps the most comprehensive to date, found that PA has the third highest share of students attending financially disadvantaged school districts. The funding situation in Pennsylvania’s richest districts is so great that it appears to make up for the unacceptably high number of poor, failing districts in the state. That’s bad, but what is worse is that the gap is growing.

Pennsylvania certainly has high quality school districts—a new review gave it three of the top ten in the nation, with two of the top five in the Philadelphia area. Unsurprisingly, those two (Tredyffrin/Easttown and Lower Merion) are among the richest school districts in Pennsylvania, if not the country. It is too bad that most Pennsylvania students, unlike those in Tredyffrin/Easttown and Lower Merion, do not come from households with six figure incomes. In 2010, the study found that per student revenue was $2,000 higher in PA’s richer districts than its poorer districts. By 2013, that difference was $3,000. If you wanted to know what happens when a state dumps its funding formula, that is it. Per student spending increases in the richest districts vastly outpaced the other 80% of districts. According to the American Institute for Research, districts in the richest 5% of Pennsylvania spent 60% more per student than those in the bottom 5% in 2013.

So when we say that the education cuts and lack of a fair funding formula hit poor districts the hardest, this is what we are talking about. The study found that low poverty districts spent more than $1,000 per student over the level they would need to achieve average outcomes. High poverty districts fell more than $2,500 per student short of that level, and have gotten worse every year since the education cuts. But that’s all academic, what are the actual outcomes for Pennsylvania students? 80% of students in those richer districts, the ones where spending was well above what was needed for adequacy, showed proficiency in math and reading in the latest PSSA exams. Fewer than 65% of students in the high poverty districts showed proficiency in math and less than 60% showed proficiency in reading. Both of those numbers are dropping.

education surplus graphic for 11-9-14 blog

American Institute for Research

So where does that leave Pennsylvania? We have some of the best, richest school districts in the country, but that only serves to distract attention from being “home to many of the most financially disadvantaged local public school districts in the nation,” thanks to being “among the most regressively funded state education systems in the nation,” with “among the lowest state aid contributions to local public school districts in the regions” due to budget cuts forcing districts to rely on property taxes. The answer is clear: Pennsylvania needs a fair funding formula for education so that funding levels are dictated by need, not by property taxes. If not, that downward trend for PA’s poorest students will continue.