《美国营救法》:家庭,学校和社区的传单和资源: 立即获取!

当学区破裂时,为什么特许学校会有盈余?

过去几年对宾夕法尼亚州的学校来说一直是艰难的,由于严格削减教育预算,迫使该州各地学区的预算短缺。由于教育资金减少了近10亿美元,各地区被迫削减计划和人员。但是,公立学校的灾难是特许学校和网络学校的意外之财,它们的预算每年都在增加,每年的增长都比前一年大大增加,直到过去五年的资金增加了164%年。不幸的是,这笔钱直接来自公立学校的口袋,而特许学校和网络学校的储备则超过$T4亿。

Net cost of charter tuition

宾夕法尼亚州的特许法获得通过是因为相信,特许学校可以为公立学校的学生提供更好的选择,同时减轻拥挤,资金短缺的地区的一些负担。尽管有些特许学校比公立学校更好,但它们有运营盈余的奢侈之处,而不是由一个州不愿支付其公平份额而对学区造成的赤字。

至于帮助地区通过让学生脱离手中来省钱, 宾夕法尼亚州学校董事会协会被发现 “学区不能省钱……在大多数情况下,每所学校只有少数学生参加宪章,这意味着学区无法降低管理费用。学区也无法减少教职员工的规模。”因此,地区遭受双重打击,不得不支付宪章,却没有实现任何财务节省。

现在介绍这些间接费用。宾夕法尼亚州宪章法第22号法案创建了一个公式,在该公式中,从一个地区到一个宪章的资金“跟随一个孩子”。有道理吧?那笔钱是否会全部花在那个孩子的教育上。根据法案22的公式,传递的费用不只是教育成本,而是章程可能没有的建筑维护,运输以及体育和音乐课程。第22号法案没有计算章程需要填补的成本,而只是给了他们该地区正在花费的钱。但是,您可能会问,关于网络宪章的情况,他们没有“砖砌”的设施,不必担心,他们是否为节省学区大量资金?一言以蔽之。网络宪章的资金与实体合同的资金相同。那么,他们用它们不需要加热的学校,不需要建造的足球架和不需要购买的大号呢带来的额外现金怎么办?

回到那些上涨的包机成本。该州曾经有一个解决方案:它将向各区偿还大部分宪章付款,以弥补他们在非教育成本方面所损失的差额。在其中之一 州长Corbett更令人困惑的削减但是,特许学校的$2.2亿美元(并从2009-10年度开始增加)已从预算中削减。这不是一个政治问题,或者至少不是以前。该程序由汤姆·里奇(Tom Ridge)启动。没有它,学区将遭受沉重打击,但根据PCCY的分析,没有任何一个学区比费城学区遭受的打击更大。早在2006-7年度,费城向特许学校支付了$2.4亿,尽管它仍从州政府那里获得了近三分之一的收入。在2012-3学年,由于没有报销,这些费用螺旋上升至约$6亿。

特许学校并不是天生就坏,但宾夕法尼亚州的特许资助系统却是。像医生一样,宾夕法尼亚州的立法者在教育经费方面也应宣誓:首先,不要伤害。国家需要更熟练地监管用于支持宪章的金融系统,以使宪章,特别是网络宪章,获得的报酬不会超过其支出。这将需要一些时间。但是他们可以立即恢复宪章偿还额度,这将减轻我们资金短缺地区的压力,并使教育对话重新集中在应有的位置上-如何确保每所学校,特许学校或传统公立学校都有资金需要保证每个孩子高质量的教育。

Share:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page

The last few years have been tough for Pennsylvania schools, with budget shortfalls forced on school districts around the state by draconian cuts to the education budget. With nearly a billion dollars less in the education coffers, districts have been forced to cut programs and staff. But what has been a disaster for public schools has been a windfall for charter and cyber schools, with their budgets increasing every year—with each year a significantly higher boost than the year before—to the point where funding is up 164% over the last five years. Unfortunately, this money is coming directly out of the pockets of public schools, while charter and cyber schools are sitting on more than $400 million in reserves.

Net cost of charter tuition

The Pennsylvania charter law was passed under the belief that charter schools could give a better option to public school students while relieving some of the burden on overcrowded, cash strapped districts. While some charter schools are better options than their public counterparts, they have the luxury of operating with a surplus instead of the deficit forced on school districts by a state unwilling to pay its fair share.

As for helping districts save money by taking students off their hands, the Pennsylvania School Boards Association found that “school districts are not saving money…In most cases, only a handful of students from each school attend charters, meaning districts are unable to reduce overhead costs. Neither are school districts able to reduce the size of their faculty or staff.” So districts are doubly hit, having to pay charters while not realizing any financial savings.

Now about those overhead costs. Act 22, the Pennsylvania charter law, created a formula where funding “follows a child” from a district to a charter. Makes sense, right? It would if that money would be fully spent on that child’s education. According to Act 22’s formula, it is not purely the education costs that get passed on, but building maintenance, transportation, and athletic and music programs that the charter may not have. Rather than calculating the costs that the charter needs to fill, Act 22 just gives them the money that the district was spending regardless. But what about cyber charters, you may ask, they don’t have “brick and mortar” facilities to worry about, aren’t they saving school districts a ton of money? In a word: no. The cyber charters are funded the same as their brick and mortar counterparts. So what are they doing with all that extra cash from the schools they don’t have to heat, the football stands they don’t have to build and the tubas they don’t have to buy?

Back to those rising charter costs. The state used to have a solution: it would reimburse districts for a large chunk of their charter payments, to make up the difference for what they were losing in non-education costs. In one of Governor Corbett’s more baffling cuts, however, the $220 million (and rising as of 2009-10) Charter School Reimbursement line was cut out of the budget. This is not a political issue, or at least, it did not used to be. The program was started by Tom Ridge. Without it, school districts have been hit hard, but according to PCCY’s analysis, none have been hit harder than the School District of Philadelphia. Back in 2006-7, Philadelphia paid out $240 million to charter schools, although it was still getting nearly a third of that back from the state. In the 2012-3 school year, with no reimbursement, those costs spiraled to about $600 million.

Charter schools are not inherently bad, but Pennsylvania’s funding system for charters is. Like doctors, Pennsylvania’s legislators should take an oath when it comes to education funding: first, do no harm. The state needs to more skillfully regulate the financial system for supporting charters so that charters, especially cyber charters, are not being paid more than they spend. That will take some time. But they can immediately reinstitute that Charter Reimbursement line, which will take a lot of pressure off of our cash-strapped districts and refocus the education conversation where it should be – how to make sure every school, charter or traditional public school, has the funds needed to guarantee every child a high quality education.