《美国营救法》:家庭,学校和社区的传单和资源: 立即获取!

总督2018年预算提案分析

PCCY分析

州长汤姆·沃尔夫(Tom Wolf)的2018年预算提案

 

保守的首付

由于州长沃尔夫(Wolf)提出的2018-19财年预算中列出的资金优先事项,英联邦的260万儿童将能够获得更多的资源,以更好地开始生活。学区和大学也将能够提供提供优质教育所需的更多资源。只有在巴勒斯坦权力机构的立法机关最终按照其公民的意愿采取行动并对天然气征收合理的遣散费或确定其他可持续性收入以支持为我们的孩子提供急需投资的国家预算时,所有这一切才有可能。

在儿童贫困率令人难以接受的高水平以及全球经济中竞争者的技能水平不断提高的背景下,宾夕法尼亚州下一代人的成功取决于总督预算提案中规定的可持续和保守的首付。

 

方向正确,但21 世纪经济要求更高

$330亿美元的国家预算中有很大一部分专门用于帮助资助我们的500个学区,205个学院和大学,以及整个英联邦的数百个职业和技术教育计划以及数千个早期学习计划。

通过支持此预算请求,宾夕法尼亚州立法机关可以明确声明,它将通过采用基于研究的策略来提高下一代的成功机会,从而帮助下一代蓬勃发展。

儿童和青少年公共公民(PCCY)敦促所有民选官员认识到,总督对我们的孩子的拟议投资既强大,又可归结为每个孩子每天不足$12,以支付全部必要的连续教育费用为每个孩子。

在投资我们最大的资产方面,宾夕法尼亚州落后于其他州-我们的学生将成为我们未来的劳动力,我们的企业家,我们的下一代CEO和立法者。好消息是,这笔预算是朝着正确方向迈出的一步,但是宾夕法尼亚州仍然是花销和业绩不佳,我们的孩子正在承受后果。

我们敦促所有立法者认识到,该预算尚未像美国“最伟大的一代”那样为即将到来的退休年龄的宾夕法尼亚州数以百万计的婴儿潮一代投入相同的方式来准备下一代所需的持续资源。在未来的几年中,还需要做更多的工作。

 

早期学习计划不断发展,但是我们可以实现更大的投资回报

该预算提案明智地为幼儿园前和高质量的儿童保育提供了额外的资金。州长提议增加$4000万,以支持更多的高质量K-pre-K,这将使近4400名儿童受益。这项投资值得每个自称家庭冠军的立法者早日给予大力支持。额外的$2300万用于获得托儿服务和提高其质量,将增加多达1600名儿童入学准备学习的潜力。这些资金是家庭的又一个胜利,它们使英联邦朝着正确的方向前进。

通过同意为学前班准备的建议资金,立法机关可以确保英联邦获得至少$1.6亿的投资回报,并通过可预见的储蓄和新收益获得可预见的收益,这些收益来自对受益于高质量学前班的儿童的已证明的终身影响。

即使有这种增加,也只能为符合公共资助的学前班或高质量护理的所有儿童中的42%提供服务。显然,我们必须做得更好。

在前K州资助的30个州中,宾夕法尼亚州排名第18位。新泽西州的幼儿园前人均支出是宾夕法尼亚州和西弗吉尼亚州的人均支出的五倍,后者于1983年启动了幼儿园前计划,并使之在六年前开始的所有四岁儿童中普及。它的人均投资是宾夕法尼亚州的三倍。由于我们的成年人无法跟上步伐,因此,宾夕法尼亚州的儿童被排除在外。

我们说:“为什么不使用PA?”

我们敦促立法机关认真考虑双方选民的意见,他们绝大多数都同意高质量的早期学习计划有助于建立孩子的学业成功。

 

投资不足的遗产减缓了公共教育的复苏

去年,在众议院和参议院的共和党和民主党领导人的支持下,沃尔夫州长兑现了诺言,承诺恢复2011财年公共教育削减的$10亿欧元的目标。幸运的是,两党在教育支出方面的两党协议过去三年中,还制定了学校资助公式,可以更公平地向学区分配新资金。

提议的基础教育和特殊教育经费增加$1.2亿,将使各州可以避免削减费用,否则这些费用是应付增加的退休金,包机和州法律规定的其他强制性费用所必需的。

不幸的是,根据立法机关的拨款公式,全州学区仍不足满足合理拨款水平所需的超过$30亿的资金。众议院和参议院中有太多的议员代表了努力维持生计的学区。在数量众多的立法区中,班级人数激增,学校没有图书馆员,辅导员,护士或体育运动。艺术已经被牺牲或砍伐,以致它们影响的学生太少。更重要的是,根本没有优质的高中课程以及最聪明的学生和最苦苦挣扎的学生的选择。

我们敦促立法机关支持总督的提案拨款,但同时也认识到,这样做,将通过立法机关采用的公平公式将少于10%的学校资金分配给学区。要加快在最贫困地区的投资步伐,还需要做更多的工作,以便学生面临最大挑战的地区拥有使这些学生脱颖而出的必要资源。

宾夕法尼亚州是一个令人担忧的州联盟之一,这些州因未能适当资助公立学校而缩短了孩子的时间。宾夕法尼亚州的人均支出比较(为数不多的比较各州支出的可靠方法之一),宾夕法尼亚州排名第32位nd 投资于K-12教育。即使按收入进行调整,我们的排名也更接近最低值:39 州居民每$1,000个人收入中的K-12教育支出。结果,宾夕法尼亚州的孩子接受教育的程度比宾夕法尼亚州的任何州都要多,这完全取决于他们的邮政编码。

宾夕法尼亚州也缺乏承诺为其学校提供足够资金的承诺,这在绩效评估中也得到了证明。英联邦的学生排名25 在全国获得数学成绩。带有8的40% 宾夕法尼亚PSSA英语语言艺术不及格的高年级学生排名第12 在阅读成绩方面,远远落后于马萨诸塞州和马里兰州的教育强国。

 

从技术上讲,良好的中学教育是有偿的

为职业和技术教育提供的雄心勃勃且迫切需要的增长意味着,成千上万的学生可以毕业,具备进入劳动力市场并支持自己和家人的技能。

提议的$5千万的已证明的高中技术教育计划增加表明,承诺将有限的州资源用于已证明的教育策略,以提高高中毕业率。

参加CTE课程的学生的平均高中毕业率为93%,而全国平均水平为80%。此外,拥有2-3 CTE学分的高中毕业生的91%可以进入大学。这项投资认识到,联邦政府每个学区都必须“改善”获得职业和技术教育的机会。

但是,并非所有地区都有资源提供高质量的职业技术教育选择。因此,PCCY敦促立法机关承认,许多学区的技术教育是学生毕业和加入美国中产阶级的有力途径,而这些学区却是资金严重匮乏的地区。

我们特别呼吁立法机关将新的职业技术教育资金用于那些明显落后于使当今的学生适应不断变化的经济所需的支出水平的地区。如果有针对性,这些资金将为英联邦,当地经济体和宾夕法尼亚州的下一代劳动力带来最大的投资回报。

 

解决旧问题的新方法使最弱势的儿童得以成长

除教育外,沃尔夫州长提出的具有开创性的建议,即保护儿童免受上瘾的阿片类药物的父母的可怕影响,应得到两党的立即支持。总督提出的一项具有前瞻性的提议,即投资$T650万,以扩大家访计划,将护士部署到高风险家庭的住所中,包括父母或最近被阿片类药物上瘾的家庭,这既有远见,也有可能挽救生命这些800户家庭将为这些家庭提供服务

研究表明,在过去的一年中,大约三分之一的育龄妇女至少有一种阿片类药物处方。这些母亲所生的太多婴儿可能会遭受药物暴露的可怕影响,甚至在出生时就戒断药物。我们敦促立法机关为这项预算要求提供全额资金,以确保这些儿童不仅得到简单的保护,而且有机会壮成长。

最后,总督提出了另一项有力的新战略,以帮助智障儿童从高中过渡到成年,并获得他们所需的支持。这项提议确保了高中毕业后,我们最弱势的孩子中很少有人跌入支持系统的缝隙。总督的提议富有同情心地减轻了家庭的文书工作负担,并简化了从一种系统到另一种系统的过渡,从而使儿童在成年后就可以继续发挥自己的潜力,而不会陷入官僚机构。

宾夕法尼亚州的预算增加了176%,部分原因是自1996财年以来,校正费用的急剧增长。过去22年,校正和缓刑年度支出的增长几乎超过了其他州的支出。例如,同一时期通过基础教育拨款赠款为公立学校提供的资金增加了69%。

总督的预算提案的重点是提高教育质量,提供更多可行的高中选择,并将这些投资与扩展的高质量幼儿园前课程结合起来,从而启动了联邦制,旨在通过为下一代做准备,从而永久降低监禁成本。成功与繁荣。

PCCY认为,此预算是可持续发展和保守的首付,用于将这个伟大国家的目光投向未来。

PCCY PA预算分析-保守的定金–最终

Share:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on LinkedInPin on PinterestEmail this to someonePrint this page

PCCY Analysis

Governor Tom Wolf’s 2018 Budget Proposal

 

A conservative down payment

The Commonwealth’s 2.6 million children will be able to access more of the resources necessary to get a better start in life because of the funding priorities outlined in Governor Wolf’s proposed FY 2018-19 budget.  School districts and colleges will also be able to provide more of the resources needed to provide a quality education.   All of this is possible only if the PA’s legislature finally acts on the will of its citizens and enacts a reasonable severance tax on natural gas or identifies other sustainable revenues to undergird a state budget that provides for the urgently needed investments in our children.

Set against the backdrop of unacceptably high levels of child poverty and the rising skill level of competitors in the global economy, the success of the next generation of Pennsylvanians depends on the sustainable and conservative down payment provided for by the Governor’s budget proposal.

 

Right direction, but a 21st century economy demands more

A significant portion of the $33 billion state budget is appropriately dedicated to help fund our 500 school districts, 205 colleges and universities, and the hundreds of career and technical education programs and thousands of early learning programs across the commonwealth.

By supporting this budget request, the Pennsylvania legislature can make a clear statement that it will help the next generation thrive by adopting research-based strategies to boost their lifetime chances of success.

Public Citizens for Children and Youth (PCCY) urges all elected officials to recognize that as robust as the Governor’s proposed investments in our children is, it boils down to less than $12 per child per day to cover the cost of the full continuum of education essential for every child.

Pennsylvania lags other states when it comes to investing in our greatest asset—our students who will be our future workforce, our entrepreneurs, our next generation of CEO’s and lawmakers.  The good news is that this budget is a step in the right direction, but Pennsylvania continues to be out spent and out-performed and our children are suffering the consequences.

We urge all lawmakers to recognize that this budget does not yet commit the ongoing resources required to prepare the next generation in the same fashion that America’s Greatest Generation did for the millions of Pennsylvania’s baby boomers who are now entering their retirement years.  Much more must be done in the years ahead.

 

Early Learning Programs grow, but greater return on investment is within our reach

This budget proposal wisely provides additional funding for pre-K and high-quality childcare. The Governor’s proposed addition of $40 million to support expanded access to high-quality pre-K will reach more nearly 4400 children.  This investment is worthy of early and strong support from every legislator who calls themselves a champion of families. An additional $23 million for both access and quality of child care will increase the potential for as many as 1600 children to start school ready to learn.  These funds are another win for families, and they move the Commonwealth in the right direction.

By agreeing to the proposed funding for pre-K, the legislature can ensure that the Commonwealth reaps at least $160 million in return for its investment with predictable savings and new revenues from the proven, lifetime impact on children who benefit from high quality pre-K.

Even with this increase, only about 42% of all children eligible for publicly funded pre-K or high-quality care can be served.  Obviously, we must do better.

Among the 30 states that fund pre-K, Pennsylvania ranks 18th.  New Jersey is spending five times more per capita for pre-K than Pennsylvania and West Virginia, which launched its pre-K program in 1983 and made it universal for all four-year-old’s beginning six years ago. It invests three times the rate per-capita than Pennsylvania. Because we adults aren’t keeping up, a greater share of kids Pennsylvania kids are being left out.

We say, “Why not PA?”

We urge the legislature to take seriously the views of voters of both parties who overwhelmingly agree that quality early learning programs help set up children for academic success.

 

Legacy of under-investment Slows Public Education Recovery

Last year, with the support of Republican and Democratic leaders in the House and Senate, Governor Wolf made good on a promise to restore the devastating $1 billion cut made to public education in FY 2011. Fortunately, the bi-partisan agreement on education spending in the last three years also produced a school funding formula that more fairly distributes new dollars to school districts.

The proposed increase of $120 million in funding for basic and special education will make it possible for districts to avoid cuts that will otherwise be necessary to meet rising pension, charter and other mandated costs imposed by state law.

Unfortunately, according to the legislature’s funding formula, school districts across the state are still short of more than $3 billion in funding needed to meet reasonable funding levels.  Far too many members of the House and Senate represent school districts that are struggling to stay afloat.  In a startling number of legislative districts, class sizes have swelled, schools have no librarians, counselors, nurses, or sports. Arts have been sacrificed or cut so that they reach too few students. What’s more, access to quality high school classes and options for the brightest students and the students struggling most are non-existent.

We urge the legislature to support the Governor’s proposal appropriation but also recognize that by doing so, less than 10% of school funding will be allocated to school districts via the fair formula adopted by the legislature.  Much more must be done to accelerate the pace of investment in the poorest districts so that the very districts where students face the greatest challenges have the resources necessary for those students to excel.

Pennsylvania is among a troubling league of states that shortchange their children by failing to appropriately fund public schools. Comparing state spending on a per-capita basis (one of the few credible ways to compare spending across states), Pennsylvania ranks 32nd for investing in K-12 education.  Even when we adjust for income, we rank even closer to the bottom: 39th in state spending for K-12 education for every $1,000 of personal income of the state’s residents.  As a result, more than in any state in the nation, in Pennsylvania, the quality of a child’s education is determined simply by their zip code.

Pennsylvania’s lack of commitment to adequately fund its schools is evidenced in performance measures as well. The Commonwealth’s students rank 25th in the nation for math performance. With 40% of 8th grade students failing the English Language Arts PSSA, Pennsylvania ranks 12th in reading achievement, far behind the education powerhouse states of Massachusetts and Maryland.

 

Technically speaking, a good high school education pays

The ambitious and critically needed increases provided for Career and Technical Education means that thousands more students can graduate with the skills needed to enter the workforce and support themselves and their families.

The proposed $50 million increase in proven high school technical education programs shows a commitment to direct limited state resources toward proven educational strategies to boost high school graduation rates.

The average high school graduation rate for students concentrating in CTE programs is 93% compared to the national average of 80%.  Moreover, 91% of high school graduates with 2-3 CTE credits enroll in college.  This investment recognizes that improved access to career and technical education is a “must do” for every school district in the Commonwealth.

However, not all districts have the resources to provide high quality career technical education options.    For this reason, PCCY urges the legislature to recognize that many of the school districts where a technical education is a powerful pathway for students to graduate and join America’s middle class, are the very same districts that are woefully underfunded.

We specifically call on the legislature to target new career technical education funds to districts that are demonstrably farther behind the spending levels needed to prepare today’s students to the changing economy.  If targeted, these funds have the greatest return in investment for the Commonwealth, local economies, and Pennsylvania’s next generation workforce.

 

New approaches to old problems make it possible for the most vulnerable children to thrive

Beyond education, Governor Wolf’s groundbreaking proposal to protect children from the horrific impact of a parent addicted to opioids deserves immediate bi-partisan support.  The Governor’s forward-thinking proposal for a $6.5 million investment to expand home visiting programs that deploy nurses to homes of at-risk families, including families where a parent is or was recently addicted to opioids, is both visionary and potentially life-saving for the 800 families these expanded funds will serve

Research tell us that about a third of women of childbearing age had at least one opioid prescription in the last year.  Far too many babies born to these mothers may suffer the horrific effects of the drug exposure and worse yet to the drug withdrawal at birth.   We urge the legislature to fully fund this budget request to ensure these children are not simply protected, but that they have the chance to thrive.

Finally, the Governor proposes another powerful new strategy to help children who are intellectually disabled transition from high school to adulthood with the supports they need. This proposal makes sure fewer of our most vulnerable children fall through the cracks in support systems after high school.  The Governor’s proposal compassionately streamlines the paperwork burden for families and smooths the transition from one system to another so that children can continue to reach their potential as they become young adults without getting caught up in the bureaucracy.

Pennsylvania’s budget has grown by 176%, in part because of precipitous growth in spending on corrections since FY 1996.  The annual spending increase for corrections and probation outpaced nearly any other state expenditure in the last 22 years.  For instance, in that same period funding for public schools via the basic education funding grants grew by 69%.

The Governor’s budget proposal’s focus on boosting the quality of education, offering more high school options that work, and coupling those investments with expanded high -quality pre-K, launches the Commonwealth on a course to permanently reducing incarceration costs by preparing the next generation to succeed and prosper.

PCCY believes this budget is a sustainable and conservative down payment necessary for setting the sights of this great state forward to the future.

PCCY PA Budget Analysis-A conservative down payment – FINAL